Tallahassee Property Taxes
Florida State Property Tax Implications
Because of the volatile nature of Florida real estate tax issue, this article will be updated often. The Florida legislature is currently addressing the issue of property taxes for all Florida homeowners so stay tuned for future updates as they occur.
What Is The Homestead Exemption?
As a state of Florida property owner, you have the opportunity to participate in the Homestead Exemption. This exemption will reduce the taxable value of your home by $50,000 each year. It is important that you realize, not only does your home qualify for a Homestead Exemption, it is also afforded protection by the Save Our Homes amendment. The Save Our Homes amendment limits increases in property tax assessments to a maximum amount of 3 percent per year. If you’re a legal property titleholder in the state of Florida, The Homestead Exemption is available to be used for your primary residence only.
To apply for the Homestead Exemption you need following documentation:
- Social security numbers for all property owners
- A copy of the recorded deed
- Proof of permanent residence if you are not a U.S. citizen
- Death certificate of spouse if you are filing for a widow or widower exemption
Florida driver’s license (or Florida ID card) and one of the following:
Florida vehicle registration
Florida voter registration card
Declaration of domicile
Once you have assembled the information, all you need to do is fill out the Leon County Homestead Tax Exemption Form and submit it to the Leon County Tax Appraiser's office.
Special Exemptions Provided For Widows, Widowers & The Disabled
For those Florida property owners who are classified as widows, widowers, and persons with disabilities, there are a number of additional exemptions available for new applications for Homestead. The Widow, Widower or Disability Exemption must be made in person at the Property Appraiser’s Office between January 1st and March 1st. If you wish to pre-file for the Homestead, this can be accomplished from March through December 31st for the next calendar year. Click or call Joe Manausa Real Estate for the local tax office location nearest you.
Please Do Us A Small Favor
We work very hard to produce daily content for our long-time readers and first-time visitors. We provide this information for free, hoping to earn your respect and trust and the right to one-day help you when selling or buying a home. Can we get your help spreading the word about our blog?
If you like the content, would you please like it or share it using the Facebook button at the beginning of the post? This simple action will be greatly appreciated! THANK YOU!
Also like us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/joemanausarealestate/
Your Leon County Ad Valorem Property Taxes
When it comes to buying your Leon County home, it is important to estimate the property tax for the property. Don’t be fooled by the current tax bill once you buy the home, as property taxes will be assessed on the home’s new value. We recommend a good rule of thumb is to calculate your property taxes at 2% of the purchase price. For the most current Leon County Ad Valorem Property Tax Rate, contact us here at 21 CENTURY Manausa and Associates and we will provide the most up to date information on tax rates in Tallahassee and Leon County. Below you will find information taken directly from the Leon County website regarding local Ad Valorem Taxes on Real and Personal Property.
“ Ad Valorem taxes on real property and tangible personal property are collected by the Tax Collector on an annual basis, beginning on November 1st for the year January through December. It is the responsibility of each taxpayer ensure that his/her taxes are paid and that a tax bill is received.
The Property Appraiser assesses the value of a property and The Board of County Commissioners and other levying bodies set the mileage rates. Using these figures, the Property Appraiser prepares the tax roll. Upon completion, the tax roll is then certified to the Tax Collector who prints and mails the tax notices. Tax notices are sent to the owner's last record of address as it appears on the tax roll. In cases where the property owner pays through an escrow account, the mortgage company should request and be sent the tax bill, and the owner receives a copy of the notice.”
Tax statements are normally mailed out on or before November 1st of each year. The gross amount is due by March 31st; taxes become delinquent on April 1st. The following discounts apply for early payment:
- 4% discount if paid in November
- 3% discount if paid in December
- 2% discount is paid in January
- 1% discount is paid in February
If you would like more information about the Florida Homestead Exemption and/or property tax assessments, please call or email us at [email protected].
Your Local Expert In Tallahassee
Are you ready to go see a home in this oft-overlooked, amazing neighborhood? Do you have further questions on the Tallahassee real estate market? If so, you can leave a comment below, give us a call at (850) 366-8917, or drop us a note and we'll give you the local information needed to ensure a successful, smooth transaction.
As a local born and raised in Tallahassee with a focus on customer service, I promise you'll find great success when working with Joe Manausa Real Estate, just as have our past customers. You can read thousands of their reviews reported on Google, Facebook and Zillow right here: Real Estate Agent Reviews Tallahassee.
Have you heard about my new book "The Business of Getting Business?" It's a comprehensive guide for small businesses to help them make the move to digital. For those of us who want to survive and thrive in a world where large corporations are taking over, it is a must-read. It's also the perfect guide for how to sell a home in the digital age. You can find it on Amazon (UK) for immediate delivery, or you can go to Amazon (US) to reserve a copy at a pre-US published rate.
Think all REALTORS are alike?
Read what people are saying about working with Joe Manausa Real Estate! You can see thousands of real customer reviews reported on Google, Facebook and Zillow at this link: CLICK HERE FOR REAL ESTATE AGENT REVIEWS.
I can't find this out ANYWHERE so I am emailing anyone who might be able to shed some light on this for me. I do have an email to the Dade-county property appraisers office and still waiting for a reply...
I am attempting to buy a verified short-sale house for $69,000. Previous owners paid $340,000 in 2006. What rough taxes can I expect to pay? This is important because my lender knows I cannot afford to pay $5,000 in yearly property taxes so I could not get the loan for this one. Lots of homes in the area ( unincorporated Dade ) are selling for cheap so I'm HOPING that the tax burden would NOT be anywhere close to, say, even half of the previous purchase price..
Thanks in advance for your info.
The short answer is go visit the Dade County Property Appraiser. You need to understand their valuation policy. Regardless of what they do, you will be able to argue (after closing) that you paid market value for the home (unless you have some special relationship with the property owner).
I asked around and the consensus (here in Leon County and most likely Dade County too) is that the County Property Appraiser is not bound by the sales price. He can give a different valuation if he feels that the sales price not true fair market value.
In order to feel safe, I think you should sit down with somebody at the property appraisers office and get their opinion of value. Once you have that, you can estimate your taxes based upon the Dade County millage rate (or just look up another property of similar value and see their tax bill for last year).
I hope this helps.
did you get an answer to your question on taxes? and did you get the house?
Post a Comment